
GDL: Graduated Driver 

Licensing in Montana

Montana's GRADUATED DRIVER 

LICENSING (GDL) law (MCA 61.5.132-

135) is a three-step program that

reduces the risk while new drivers

under age 18 develop and improve

their driving skills. Teens still get to

drive—with supervision—and

gradually gain experience to begin

driving on their own, but with

restrictions on night driving and

passengers.

Young drivers face the highest crash 

risk in darkness and each teen 

passenger doubles the crash risk. 

Safety research is clear that newly 

licensed drivers should start driving 

with no young passengers. 

Learning to drive is a complex, 

ongoing process that requires 

responsibility and thousands of miles 

of practice to develop competence, 

skill, and judgment. Just like with 

sports and music, good habits and 

abilities grow through experience 

and good coaching.  

After teens have their full privilege 

license, parents should continue to 

drive with their teen, monitor, model, 

and enforce the rules, and encourage 

safe driving habits. 

For more GDL information and resources, visit www.opi.mt.gov  

or call the Traffic Education Office at (406) 444-4432.      

STEP 1  
LEARNER 

LICENSE 

WHEN:  Starts with the Learner 

License obtained in a state-

approved driver education program 

no earlier than age 14½ or with a 

Learner License without driver 

education at age 15 or older with 
the student driver relief program.   

Teens with a Learner License can 

ONLY be supervised by a licensed 

parent/guardian or licensed adult 

authorized by the parent/guardian. 

The parent/guardian who signed 

the driver license application is 

legally liable for any damages or 

losses resulting from a crash when 

the teen driver is behind the wheel. 

HOW LONG:  One year.  

Supervised driving is for a minimum 

of six months and 50 hours - 10 

hours must be at night.  Practice in 

varied weather, traffic, and road 

conditions. 

CONDITIONS:  Seat belts use 

required: each occupant must wear 

a seat belt.  The driver must remain 

free from traffic violations and 

alcohol/drug offenses. 

STEP 2  
GDL RESTRICTED 

LICENSE 

WHEN: Teens may apply to drive 

independently after successful 

completion of Step 1, with parent/

guardian certification of 50 hours of 

supervised driving practice, and no 

traffic violations and alcohol/drug 

offenses. 

HOW LONG: One year or when 

driver reaches age 18. 

CONDITIONS:  Seat belt use 

required: each occupant must wear 

a seat belt. 

Curfew from 11 pm to 5 am:  

Darkness increases crash risk , so 

night driving is not allowed 

between 11:00 p.m. and 5:00 a.m., 

unless travel is for school, church, 

work, or farm-related activities.  

Limit passengers:  For the first six 

months may have only one 

passenger; for the second six 

months may have up to three 

passengers.  Others allowed if 

passengers are family members or 

the teen is being supervised by a 

licensed adult driver. 

STEP 3 
FULL PRIVILEGE 

DRIVER LICENSE 

WHEN:  Upon successful completion 

of Steps 1 and 2 or when driver 

reaches age 18. 
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Penalties—GDL Law Violations 

First Offense – Not less than 20 hours or more than 60 hours of 
community service.   

Second Offense – Suspension of restricted driver license for six months. 



PRACTICE DRIVING LOG 

Use this log to track your teen’s 50 hours of practice driving (including 10 hours at 

night) OR consider using a mobile application log, such as “RoadReady” for IOS devices 

or “Fast Track Driving Log Free” for Android devices. 

Date Conditions & Skills 

EX: intersections, full 

stops, yields, scanning 

for hazards 

Amount 

of Time 

Initials Date Conditions & Skills 

EX: intersections, full 

stops, yields, scanning 

for hazards 

Amount 

of Time 

Initials 

TOTAL TIME 

X 

X 

Parent/Guardian 

Teen Driver 

This Driving Log belongs to: 

http://www.roadreadyapp.com/
https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.lonecoder.fasttrackfree&hl=en
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